New Twitter Social Privacy Tools
Twitter is preparing a new line of privacy security features. Now you can choose whether your account will be public or private. Among the new tools that the service strives to offer are the options to archive old tweets, remove followers, hide the tweets you liked, and leave the public conversation. Many people don’t feel comfortable using a platform where their privacy is not efficiently secured. That’s why Twitter intends to improve its policy nowadays.
Let’s have a look at how these features work. After some time, people will be able to archive their old tweets so that only they will see them. Nowadays, you can only entirely delete them, which is not always the best solution for everyone. You will also be able to remove some people from your followers but not block them.
When you like tweets, users can see this according to the Twitter policy nowadays. However, some people prefer others not to watch which posts they liked. Twitter will soon allow choosing who can see this: a selected group of people, your followers, or everyone. Also, you will be able to leave conversations on Twitter when someone mentions you.
There is no exact day when these features will be launched. They are currently in the developing stage. For example, the company is choosing when to allow users to archive their tweets. It might be after 30, 60, 90 days, or even after an entire year. However, the leaving conversation option is going to be tested by the end of the year. You will be able to remove users starting from September.
Twitter is making these tools to allow people to feel more comfortable and confident while posting on the service. Nowadays, users come up with different ideas, for example, to block and unblock someone to remove them from their followers. That’s why Twitter understands that the platform needs these improvements.